Art Cinema OFFoff vzw

Begijnhof ter Hoye

Lange Violettestraat 237

B-9000 Gent

+ 32 (0) 9 335 31 83
info@offoff.be

Team

Artistic council / Programming:

  • Isolde Vanhee, chair
  • Sven Dehens
  • Godart Bakkers
  • Cis Bierinckx
  • Dany Deprez
  • Gawan Fagard
  • Sofie Verdoodt
  • Maurits Wouters

Organisation / Business policy:

  • Lisa Colpaert

Board:

  • Isolde Vanhee, chair
  • Dany Deprez
  • Mieke Dewulf
  • Isabel Devriendt
  • Karen Dick
  • Marjoleine Maes
  • Jan Peeters
  • Bieke Vanlerberghe
  • Joris Verdoodt

Partners

With the support of

  • VAF – Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds
  • Vlaamse Overheid
  • Stad Gent
VAF Logo
Flanders Logo
Gent Logo

Graphic design / Webdesign:
Joris Verdoodt & Mathieu Serruys


Art Cinema OFFoff

Art Cinema OFFoff is a platform for experimental cinema and audiovisual art. Time and again, OFFoff searches for films from the past and present that enter into cinematographic and narrative experiments, often navigating between cinema and the other arts. The protagonists of avant-garde cinema are cherished. At the same time, the classical canon is updated and confronted with ‘forgotten’ films, new media, contemporary voices and divergent perspectives.

Kunsthal Gent is the permanent venue of OFFoff. OFFoff also shows films at various locations in Flanders and to this end likes to work together with filmmakers, artists, curators and cultural partners from home and abroad. Programme series are regularly framed with lectures, discussions, workshops, educational projects and publications.

Films and audiovisual artworks are shown, studied and discussed as much as possible on their original media carriers. OFFoff investigates what the audiovisual medium can mean today, both in its material manifestation, its reflective power and its emancipatory potential. OFFoff pays special attention to Flemish and Belgian traditions, but also zooms in on international oeuvres or countries with an idiosyncratic film scene.

Atelier OFFoff

Screening, studying and creating are not strictly separated. Thus, academic or artistic research into film exists today in many forms: a written study, the creation of a new work, an exhibition or a film programme. OFFoff wants to explore these borderlines between presentation, study and creation, while welcoming – in line with traditions within experimental film – the input of other disciplines such as music, literature and performance.

Through Atelier OFFoff, beginning filmmakers are involved in the search for alternative and interdisciplinary presentation forms. Atelier OFFoff is an open, participative place within OFFoff for and by beginning filmmakers and artists who are given free rein in their experiments and programmes on the border of creation and presentation.


Partners

With the support of

  • VAF – Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds
  • Vlaamse Overheid
  • Stad Gent
VAF Logo
Flanders Logo
Gent Logo

Graphic design / Webdesign:
Joris Verdoodt & Mathieu Serruys

Art Cinema OFFoff vzw


Bureau:
Vrouwebroersstraat 6

B-9000 Gent

Cinema:
Lange Steenstraat 14
B-9000 Gent

Contact:
+ 32 (0) 9 335 31 83
info@offoff.be

Billets:
En vente à la caisse (uniquement en espèces).
La réservation n’est pas possible (sauf indication contraire).

Team

Conseil artistique / Programmation:

  • Isolde Vanhee, président
  • Sven Dehens
  • Godart Bakkers
  • Cis Bierinckx
  • Dany Deprez
  • Gawan Fagard
  • Sofie Verdoodt
  • Maurits Wouters

Organisation / Gestion d’entreprise:

  • Lisa Colpaert

Conseil exécutif:

  • Isolde Vanhee, président
  • Dany Deprez
  • Mieke Dewulf
  • Isabel Devriendt
  • Karen Dick
  • Marjoleine Maes
  • Jan Peeters
  • Bieke Vanlerberghe
  • Joris Verdoodt

Partenaires

Avec le soutien de

  • VAF – Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds
  • Vlaamse Overheid
  • Stad Gent
VAF Logo
Flanders Logo
Gent Logo

Graphic design / Webdesign:
Joris Verdoodt & Mathieu Serruys


Art Cinema OFFoff

Art Cinema OFFoff est un lieu de cinéma pour le film expérimental et l’art audiovisuel. OFFoff présente des films d’aujourd’hui et d’antan qui entrent dans des expérimentations cinématographiques et narratives, souvent en se naviguant entre le cinéma et les autres arts. Les protagonistes du cinéma d’avant-garde sont chéris. En même temps, le canon classique est mis à jour et confronté à des films « oubliés », aux nouveaux médias, aux voix contemporaines et aux perspectives divergentes.

Kunsthal Gent offre l’espace de cinéma principale de OFFoff. Également, OFFoff présente des films à différents endroits en Flandre et aime travailler à cette fin avec des cinéastes, des artistes, des curateurs et des partenaires culturels d’ici et de l’étranger. Les séries de programmes sont régulièrement encadrées par des conférences, des discussions, des ateliers, des projets éducatifs et des publications.

Les films et les œuvres audiovisuelles sont montrés, étudiés et discutés, autant que possible sur leurs supports originaux. OFFoff s’interroge sur ce que les médias audiovisuels peuvent signifier aujourd’hui, tant dans sa manifestation matérielle que dans son pouvoir de réflection et son potentiel émancipateur. OFFoff accorde une attention particulière aux traditions flamandes et belges, mais s’intéresse également aux œuvres internationales ou aux cinémas nationaux avec un paysage cinématographique particulier.

Atelier OFFoff

L’exposition, l’étude et la création ne sont pas strictement séparées. La recherche académique ou artistique sur le cinéma existe aujourd’hui sous de nombreuses formes : une étude écrite, la création d’une nouvelle œuvre, une exposition ou un programme cinématographique. OFFoff veut explorer ces frontières entre la présentation, l’étude et la création, tout en accueillant – dans la lignée des traditions du cinéma expérimental – l’apport d’autres disciplines telles que la musique, la littérature et la performance.

Atelier OFFoff implique les cinéastes débutants dans la recherche de formes de projection alternatives et interdisciplinaires. L’Atelier OFFoff est un lieu ouvert et participatif au sein d’OFFoff pour et par les cinéastes et artistes débutants qui font des programmes expérimentaux entre la création et la présentation.


Partenaires

Avec le soutien de

  • VAF – Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds
  • Vlaamse Overheid
  • Stad Gent
VAF Logo
Flanders Logo
Gent Logo

Graphic design / Webdesign:
Joris Verdoodt & Mathieu Serruys