Night of the Experimental Film

Athanor © Philippe Garrel & La Cinémathèque française

16.09
’21 20:00

20:00

Ancienne Belgique (AB)
Anspachlaan 110, Brussels

Tickets

€ 15 (presale) / € 13 (at the door) Order

Tickets available via AB

Art Cinema OFFoff presents – i.c.w. Ancienne Belgique – the Night of the Experimental Film. Following an enforced silence, the Night is back. This new edition focuses on French filmmaker Philippe Garrel (°1948) and his connections with the Parisian and New York underground. German model, singer and actress Christa Päffgen (1938–1988), better known as Nico, appears in all al the films and is the muse of this Night.

The Night traditionally combines films on their original medium with (inter)national live music and new soundtracks. The program was curated by the Ghent record label B.A.A.D.M. – run by graphic designers Joris Verdoodt and Mathieu Serruys – and it is one in which Serruys himself also plays a musical role, alongside a few artists from the contemporary Swedish electronic scene: Maria W Horn, Mats Erlandsson and Linus Hillborg.

The focus is on two rarely shown films from Philippe Garrel’s underground period: Athanor (1972) and Le Berceau de cristal (1975). OFFoff received unique permission to screen them. Together with La Cicatrice intérieure (1972), that OFFoff screened in 2012, they form a triptych dedicated to his beloved Nico. A triptych about which Garrel remarked: “C’était sans doute l’influence de Warhol”. They met in 1969 and that same year Nico took Garrel along to the Factory, where she had already been working with Andy Warhol for four years as one of his Superstars. That was where Garrel showed Warhol his recently completed Le Lit de la vierge (1969) and Warhol showed him Imitation of Christ (1967), his latest film with Nico. The two dandies loved each other’s work. Garrel was seduced by Warhol’s autonomous productions about and with a small community of friends. Garrel stated: “Après cette rencontre, ma manière a changé”, and even called Warhol “un ciné-père”. ‘Nico Crying’, one of Warhol’s finest odes to her, could not be missing from the program. Warhol also used this reel as the ending for Chelsea Girls (1966), a film that Garrel – although he didn’t see it until 1975 – labelled “le seul film de ce genre qui m’ait vraiment marqué”. In all, Garrel made a total of seven films with Nico.

The French actor and filmmaker Pierre Clémenti had already spent time at The Factory in 1967. Clémenti was once in a rock band with Garrel, was involved with him in the radical filmmaker collective of the Zanzibar group in the late ‘60s, and acted in his films – including Le Berceau de cristal. They were both involved in ‘La bande de la Coupole’, named after the brasserie in Montparnasse where a lot of actors, artists, film- and theatre-makers met up in the late’60s – pretty much the equivalent of Max’s Kansas City for Warhol and The Factory. With Positano, Clémenti created a beautiful, psychedelic portrait of the most important artistic group of friends around Philippe Garrel during the trip on which he had met Nico.

Here you can read an ode (in Dutch) to Nico, who once visited Ghent together with Philippe Garrel, written by poet, teacher and former artistic director of OFFoff, Sofie Verdoodt.

Philippe Garrel

Le Berceau de cristal

Nico is lying on a large bed, alone in a room. She reads, writes poems, smokes, gets up and walks to & fro, plays a few notes on a harmonium and spends most of her time pensive – all in a succession of fixed shots and in a disturbing darkness. The silence gradually becomes unbearable. Nico performs an intérieure monologue consisting of lyrics from what would later become Purple Lips and other tracks from her album Drama of Exile. Gravitating around the mysterious figure of Nico, Le Berceau de cristal presents a series of portrait-ish sequences of friends. Apparitions visit her dreams and visions: Dominique Sanda as a sort of Pre-Raphaelite, earthly goddess and Rolling Stones’ muse Anita Pallenberg as a diabolically grinning drug diva preparing a heroine shot. Painter Frédéric Pardo, Garrel’s best friend (who lived with Sanda in the sixties), is working and shows a number of canvases. Garrel himself turns up as a waiting man, always alone, near a marble column. Garrel stated: “J’ai essayé de filmer mes proches dans le style de la Factory”. The film is recorded in the private world of Henri Langlois’ film museum under the Cinémathèque française, located in the Palais de Chaillot at the time. “If Nico’s face catches the light, then it is only to return it to the darkness “, is what critic Stéphane Delorme wrote of this hypnotic and deeply melancholy reverie.

The dreamy, sometimes ominous atmosphere is enhanced by the original, ethereal space-drone soundtrack by krautrock duo Ash Ra Tempel. Band member Lutz Ulbrich was one of Nico’s lovers.

Le Berceau de cristal © Philippe Garrel & La Cinémathèque française

Pierre Clémenti

Positano

Positano is an island on Italy’s Amalfi Coast that, according to legend, Neptune created out of love for a nymph. And it is love that this film is mainly about, a total and solar love. The house of Frédéric Pardo and actress Tina Aumont on the island’s rocks was a meeting place for the underground. In 1969, after the filming of Garrels Le Lit de la vierge in Marrakech and Grottaferrata, the team took a break there for a while. Actor and filmmaker Pierre Clémenti captured this idyll in psychedelic, multiple-exposure images of a stunning sensuality. We see Factory superstars Viva and Nico, who Garrel had then just met in Rome and had immediately joined on their travels. Aside from Clémenti’s intimate and loving eye for the faces and bodies in this this Mediterranean landscape, the film reveals the moving beauty of a utopia where coexistence is paired with continuous artistic creation. Nico wrote songs there for her next solo album.

Introduced by Balthazar Clémenti, who can be seen in the film as a child with his parents Pierre and Margareth Clémenti. His mother also appears in Le Berceau de cristal, amongst other films, and he also played in La cicatrice intérieure.

The Swedish composer / sound artist Linus Hillborg (SE) is active in various fields, ranging from experimental music and audiovisual installations to post-punk and noise bands. His solo work focuses on the “temporality” of sound. He combines modular analogue synthesis with his own programmed digital synthesis, as well as acoustic instrumentation, improvised elements and various tape recorder techniques. On his new album Magelungsverket (Moloton, 2021), he takes listeners through desperate soundscapes of electro-acoustic orchestral arrangements that seep through in rich harmonic synthesis.

Positano © Balthasar Clémenti

Philippe Garrel

Athanor

Nico, guardian of the fire, between tombs, in mirrors and castles. Athanor consists of thirteen intense sequences with different static compositions by Nico and the model Musky. An athanor is the melting pot used by an alchemist. Along with Le Révélateur (1968), Les Hautes solitudes (1974) and Le Bleu des origines (1978), this is one of Garrels silent film experiments.

The work of Mathieu Serruys (BE) is characterized by filmic and scenic tape loops and eroded synth parts. His most recent album, Skin/Glove (B.A.A.D.M., 2019) builds on the physical intensity, gritty tape textures, and emotive melodies of his debut. It is a mature concept album that evokes not only his musical but also his personal quest for self-realisation in a penetrating way.

Athanor © La Cinémathèque française & Philippe Garrel

Andy Warhol

Nico Crying

In 1966, Andy Warhol filmed Nico for an hour while brilliant coloured lights and psychedelic patterns danced rhythmically over her face. Similar light shows and projections were typical of the Exploding Plastic Inevitable multimedia shows that Warhol put together with the Velvet Underground and Nico that year. Nico herself becomes a screen, her face a mask and surface. When Warhol began his second film roll, Nico broke down in tears. We screen this second half of Nico/Nico Crying (1966, 66’) that Warhol recombined as the ending for Chelsea Girls (1966). He zooms in and out on her upturned face, lips, heavily made up lashes and bleached fringe. Warhol shrouds the superstar in a veil of psychedelic mystery. Nico is silent, sits nicely, and looks around while Warhol makes her portrait.

Maria W Horn (SE) is a composer from the north of Sweden. She is interested in the manipulation of time and space through sonic extremes, , utilizing both digital and analog synthesis as well as acoustic instruments and audiovisual components. Her work examines aspects of human perception – how audiovisuality and overload/loss of perceptual stimuli can conspire to transcend everyday life and invoke alternate mental states. She is a part of Sthlm Drone Society – an association working to promote slow and gradually evolving timbral music, and co-operates the label XKatedral.

Mats Erlandsson (SE) is an electroacoustic composer and sound artist based in Sweden, predominantly composing using modular synthesis. He is part of the vibrantly reemerging field of drone music in Stockholm and is associated with practices characterized by the extensive use of sustained sound.

Erlandsson and Horn collaborated before, performing a set on pipe organ at the Elevate Festival in Graz (2021).

Philippe Garrel

Le Berceau de cristal

FR • 1975 • 72' • colour • 35mm

Pierre Clémenti

Positano

FR • 1969 • 24' • colour • 16mm
Live soundtrack: Linus Hillborg

Philippe Garrel

Athanor

FR • 1972 • 20' • colour • 35mm
Live soundtrack: Mathieu Serruys

Andy Warhol

Nico Crying

US • 1966 • 33' • colour • 16mm
Live soundtrack: Maria W Horn & Mats Erlandsson

Night of the Experimental Film

Athanor © Philippe Garrel & La Cinémathèque française

16.09
’21 20:00

20:00

Ancienne Belgique (AB)
Boulevard Anspach 110, Bruxelles

Tickets

€ 15 (à la caisse) / € 13 (préventes) Réserver

Tickets disponibles via AB

A

Art Cinema OFFoff s’associe à l’Ancienne Belgique pour vous présenter la Nuit du film expérimental. Après avoir été contrainte au silence, la Nuit revient de plus belle. Cette nouvelle édition sera consacrée au réalisateur français Philippe Garrel (1948) et à ses liens avec l’underground parisien et new-yorkais. L’actrice, mannequin et chanteuse allemande Christa Päffgen (1938-1988), mieux connue sous le nom de Nico, est présente dans tous les films et sera la muse de cette Nuit.

Comme à l’accoutumée, la Nuit combinera la projection de films sur leur support d’origine avec de la musique live (inter)nationale et des bandes-son inédites. Le programme a été concocté par le label gantois B.A.A.D.M., géré par les graphistes Joris Verdoodt et Mathieu Serruys. Ce dernier jouera également un rôle musical, aux côtés de plusieurs artistes de la scène électronique suédoise actuelle : Maria W Horn, Mats Erlandsson et Linus Hillborg.

La Nuit fera la part belle à deux films rarement montrés de la période underground de Philippe Garrel : Athanor (1972) et Le Berceau de cristal (1975). OFFoff a obtenu du réalisateur une autorisation unique de projection pour ces deux œuvres. Avec La Cicatrice intérieure (1972), diffusée par OFFoff en 2012, elles forment un triptyque consacré à sa Nico bien-aimée. Un triptyque à propos duquel Garrel notait : ‘C’était sans doute l’influence de Warhol’. Nico et Garrel se rencontrèrent en 1969 ; la même année, Nico introduisit Garrel à la Factory, où elle travaillait depuis quatre ans avec Andy Warhol en tant que superstar. Garrel y montra son Lit de la vierge (1969) tout juste achevé à Warhol, qui lui présenta Imitation of Christ (1967), son dernier film avec Nico. Chacun admira le travail de l’autre. Garrel fut séduit par les productions autonomes de l’Américain, créées avec et à propos d’une petite communauté d’amis. ‘Après cette rencontre, ma manière a changé’, déclara-t-il, allant même jusqu’à qualifier Warhol de ‘ciné-père’. Nico Crying, l’un des plus beaux hommages de Warhol à la chanteuse, ne pouvait donc manquer au programme. Warhol réutilisa cette bobine à la fin des Chelsea Girls (1966) – ‘le seul film de ce genre qui m’ait vraiment marqué’, disait Garrel, qui ne le vit d’ailleurs qu’en 1975. Au total, Garrel réalisa sept films avec Nico.

En 1967, l’acteur et réalisateur français Pierre Clémenti fréquentait depuis quelque temps la Factory. Clémenti, qui avait joué dans le même groupe de rock que Garrel, s’engagea avec lui à la fin des années 60 dans le groupe Zanzibar – un collectif radical de cinéastes – et joua aussi dans ses films, parmi lesquels Le Berceau de cristal. Ils intégrèrent tous deux la bande de la Coupole, nommée d’après la brasserie à Montparnasse qui, à l’époque, voyait converger de nombreux acteurs, artistes, réalisateurs et metteurs en scène – disons l’équivalent du Max’s Kansas City pour Warhol et la Factory. Avec Positano, Clémenti réalisa un beau portrait psychédélique de la bande d’amis et d’artistes qui entourait Philippe Garrel lors du voyage où il rencontra Nico.

Ici, vous trouverez une ode à Nico – qui visita Gand avec Garrel – signé par la poétesse, professeure et ancienne directrice artistique d’OFFoff, Sofie Verdoodt.

Philippe Garrel

Le Berceau de cristal

Nico est seule dans une chambre, couchée sur un grand lit ; elle lit, écrit des poèmes, fume, se lève et marche de long en large, joue quelques notes sur un harmonium, rêvasse la plupart du temps – le tout dans une succession de plans fixes, et dans une obscurité inquiétante. Peu à peu, le silence devient insoutenable. Nico livre un monologue intérieur constitué de textes qui composeront Purple Lips et d’autres titres de son album Drama of ExileLe Berceau de cristal propose aussi une série de séquences-portraits d’amis gravitant autour de la figure mystérieuse de Nico. Des apparitions hantent ses rêves et ses visions – Dominique Sanda telle une sorte de déesse terrestre préraphaélite, Anita Pallenberg (la muse des Stones) telle une diva de la drogue au rictus diabolique, qui se fait un shoot d’héroïne. Le peintre Frédéric Pardo, ami intime de Garrel qui vivait avec Sanda dans les années 60, est au travail et montre quelques toiles. Garrel apparaît également sous les traits d’un homme qui attend, lui aussi toujours seul, adossé à une colonne de marbre. Garrel : ‘J’ai essayé de filmer mes proches dans le style de la Factory’. Le film a été enregistré dans le monde clos du musée du cinéma d’Henri Langlois, sous la Cinémathèque française, jadis installée au palais de Chaillot. ‘Lorsque le visage de Nico capte la lumière, uniquement pour la restituer à l’obscurité… ’, écrivait le critique Stéphane Delorme à propos de cette rêverie hypnotique et profondément mélancolique.

L’atmosphère onirique, parfois menaçante, est renforcée par la musique ‘space-drone’ éthérée et originale du duo de krautrock Ash Ra Tempel. Lutz Ulbrich, membre du groupe, était un amant de Nico.

Le Berceau de cristal © Philippe Garrel & La Cinémathèque française

Pierre Clémenti

Positano

Positano est une île de la côte italienne amalfitaine que Neptune aurait, d’après la légende, créée par amour d’une nymphe. Et l’amour est aussi l’objet principal de ce film, un amour total et solaire. Nichée sur les rochers de l’île, la maison de Frédéric Pardo et de l’actrice Tina Aumont était à l’époque un lieu de rencontre pour la communauté underground. En 1969, après le tournage du Lit de la vierge de Garrel à Marrakech et Grottaferrata, l’équipe part s’y reposer. Souhaitant immortaliser l’idylle, l’acteur et réalisateur Pierre Clémenti tourne des images psychédéliques, multiplement éclairées, d’une sensualité éblouissante. Nous y apercevons des superstars de la Factory, Viva mais aussi Nico, que Garrel venait tout juste de rencontrer à Rome et qu’il avait aussitôt accompagnée dans ce voyage. Outre le regard intime et amoureux que Clémenti pose sur les visages et les corps dans ce paysage méditerranéen, le film révèle la beauté émouvante d’une utopie où le vivre-ensemble se réalise dans une création artistique permanente. Notons que Nico y composa des morceaux pour son prochain album solo.

Le film est introduit par Balthazar Clémenti, qu’on découvre enfant dans le film aux côtés de ses parents Pierre et Margareth Clémenti. Sa mère figure aussi dans Le Berceau de cristal, notamment ; quant à Balthazar, on le retrouve dans La Cicatrice intérieure.

Le compositeur/artiste sonore suédois Linus Hillborg (SE) est actif sur plusieurs plans, allant de la musique expérimentale aux installations audiovisuelles, en passant par des groupes de post-punk et de noise. Dans son œuvre solo, il se concentre sur le caractère ‘temporaire’ du son. Il combine la synthèse analogique modulaire avec sa propre synthèse numérique programmée, des instruments acoustiques, des éléments improvisés et diverses techniques d’enregistrement à bande magnétique. Sur son nouvel album Magelungsverket (Moloton, 2021), il entraîne les auditeurs dans des soundscapes désespérés, nourris d’arrangements orchestraux électroacoustiques qui s’imprègnent d’une riche et harmonieuse synthèse sonore.

Positano © Balthasar Clémenti

Philippe Garrel

Athanor

Nico, gardienne du feu, entre les tombes, dans les miroirs et les châteaux. Athanor se compose de treize intenses séquences de poses prises par Nico et le mannequin Musky. L’athanor est le creuset des alchimistes. Avec Le Révélateur (1968), Les Hautes Solitudes (1974) et Le Bleu des origines (1978), Athanor fait partie des films expérimentaux muets de Garrel.

L’œuvre de Mathieu Serruys (BE) est caractérisée par des tape loops filmiques et paysagères, et des nappes de synthé érodées. Son album le plus récent, Skin/Glove (B.A.A.D.M., 2019), approfondit l’intensité physique, les textures granuleuses et les mélodies émotives de son premier opus, pour construire une œuvre conceptuelle mature qui exprime de façon pénétrante sa quête non seulement musicale, mais aussi personnelle : celle de l’accomplissement de soi.

Athanor © La Cinémathèque française & Philippe Garrel

Andy Warhol

Nico Crying

En 1966, Andy Warhol filme Nico pendant une heure tandis que des motifs psychédéliques et d’éblouissantes lumières colorées dansent sur son visage. Des projections et jeux de lumière similaires caractérisent les spectacles multimédias de The Exploding Plastic Inevitable, que Warhol organise la même année avec le Velvet Underground et Nico. Nico devient un écran, son visage un masque et une surface. Lorsque Warhol entame sa deuxième bobine, Nico craque et fond en larmes. Nous projetons cette seconde moitié de Nico/Nico Crying (1966, 66’), que Warhol recombina lui-même en guise de fin pour les Chelsea Girls (1966). La caméra effectue des zooms avant et arrière sur le visage sublime de Nico, ses lèvres, ses cils lourdement maquillés, sa coiffure à frange teinte en blond. Warhol enveloppe la superstar d’un voile de mystère psychédélique. Nico reste assise, silencieuse, et regarde autour d’elle tandis que Warhol réalise son portrait.

La compositrice Maria W Horn (SE) nous vient du nord de la Suède. Elle s’intéresse à la manipulation du temps et de l’espace par l’exploration des extrêmes sonores. Ce faisant, elle combine des techniques de synthèse analogique et numérique avec des instruments acoustiques et des composantes audiovisuelles. Son œuvre est une étude de la perception humaine – la façon dont les phénomènes psychoacoustiques, l’audiovisuel et l’excès ou la perte de stimuli perceptifs peuvent s’allier pour transcender le quotidien et susciter des états psychiques alternatifs. Maria W Horn fait partie de la Sthlm Drone Society, une association qui promeut la musique timbrale, à l’évolution lente et progressive. Elle collabore aussi avec le label XKatedral.

Mats Erlandsson (SE) est un artiste sonore et compositeur de musique électroacoustique basé en Suède, qui recourt essentiellement à la synthèse modulaire. Il fait partie de la drone scene dynamique de Stockholm.

Erlandsson et Horn ont collaboré par le passé dans le cadre de performances sur un orgue à tuyaux lors de l’Elevate Festival à Graz (2021).

Philippe Garrel

Le Berceau de cristal

FR • 1975 • 72' • couleurs • 35mm

Pierre Clémenti

Positano

FR • 1969 • 24' • couleurs • 16mm
Bande-son en live: Linus Hillborg

Philippe Garrel

Athanor

FR • 1972 • 20' • couleurs • 35mm
Bande-son en live: Mathieu Serruys

Andy Warhol

Nico Crying

US • 1966 • 33' • couleurs • 16mm
Bande-son en live: Maria W Horn & Mats Erlandsson